1st cycle

Studies

Year 1 (Program Phase)

The objective of the first year is to acquire a form of autonomy in the use of tools and artistic vocabulary. Personal work is gradually established, in connection with the learning of know-how and the various experiments. Alongside a solid plastic training, great attention is paid to project methodology, theory and art history, which enrich the plastic research. The manufacture and design of objects thus lead to the elaboration of projects. The learning of a foreign language is done in relation to theoretical and practical teaching.
The teaching of fundamentals (visual arts and plastic arts) - in which a large part is given to drawing - goes hand in hand with a first approach to scenography. During the workshop devoted to large-format painting and the seminars and studios for initiation to scenography, students are confronted with the dimensions of the stage, assimilate the theoretical bases of its evolution through the centuries and experience the body in space. The achievements of the training are made visible during the semester assessments and continuous controls, during which the students present their work. The quality of the achievements, the relevance and the originality of the treatment of the subjects are evaluated and placed in the field of art. At the end of the year, L’Écrit 1
(“The Essential”) must also be provided. It synthesizes what has been learned and reveals the beginning of an artistic process.

*The first year cannot be repeated.
Coordination: Frédéric Pohl

Year 2 (Program Phase)

The student deepens his fundamental knowledge in order to deploy a personal practice. This practice is expressed both in a response to the different learning experiences and in an individual creative process. Some subjects become optional, which allows the student to assert singular choices of training. Pedagogy is supported by an intense use of the means made available by the digital platform and is underpinned by space-related issues. The scenography takes on greater scope; through its conceptual aspects, it encompasses the acquisition of a precise formal vocabulary and a logic of thought that takes into account the space-time of the representation, particularly in the context of the First Stage on Stage project.
Methodology, art history, aesthetics, and the English language are taught in the form of seminars. The capacity for analysis and the mastery of communication tools (oral and written) thus reinforce the projects. The practical and technical studios, personal work in the studio, workshops and external training in collaboration with the school’s partners contribute to the evolution of know-how and the development of critical thinking. The student appropriates the tools adapted to his work and, if necessary, invents new ones.
They question the role of the artist in contemporary society and his or her future. At the same time, he produces an edition through L’Écrit 2 (“The Interview”).

Coordination: Laurent P. Berger

Year 3 (Program Phase)

Conclusion of the programme phase leading to the National Art Diploma (DNA), option art & scenography, the 3rd year aims at deepening the theoretical and practical knowledge that enriches the student’s project. Immersed in the doing and forged by analysis, a personal expression becomes clearer.
The practices of installation and monstration are at the centre of the workshop and studio proposed to the students in the room at Quai Antoine 1er in Monaco, a vast space in which they present a collective exhibition; they are also convened within the ARC on registration Le Jardin comme exposition - L’Exposition comme jardin. The scenography of shows and performing arts, linked to the courses in theatrical aesthetics, is approached through the critical observation of a contemporary show; it is also deployed through two ARCs upon registration: Les Imprévus and L’Invention de Morel. The art history courses question the codes of the exhibition and the foreign language courses focus on texts and subjects of current art events. The mastery of 2D / 3D tools supports the realization of individual and collective projects, and participates in their invention. Options are proposed among the following: object design / ceramics, photography, publishing, engraving, graphics, sound (acoustics), drawing, video. The internship confirms a professional experience in line with the student’s personal ambitions. Finally, the production of L’Écrit 3 (“The Essay”), in a free and referenced form, provides feedback on the year’s experience, analyses the evolution of the course and suggests the beginnings of research. During the diploma exam, the student validates the pedagogical contributions of the past three years. On this occasion, he testifies to his progress and presents an autonomous plastic work, in dialogue with the scenographic stakes and artistic references.

Coordination: Mathieu Schmitt

1er cycle

Études

1re année (Phase Programme)

L’objectif de la première année est d’acquérir une forme d’autonomie dans l’utilisation des outils et du vocabulaire artistique. Le travail personnel s’installe progressivement, en lien avec l’apprentissage des savoir-faire et les différentes expérimentations. Parallèlement à une solide formation plastique, une grande attention est portée à la méthodologie de projets, à la théorie et à l’histoire des arts, qui permettent d’enrichir les recherches plastiques. La fabrication et la conception d’objets conduisent ainsi à l’élaboration de projets. L’apprentissage d’une langue étrangère se fait en relation avec les enseignements théoriques et pratiques.
L’enseignement de fondamentaux (arts visuels et arts plastiques) – dans lesquels une grande part est accordée au dessin – côtoie une première approche de la scénographie. Au cours du workshop consacré à la peinture de grand format et aux séminaires et studios d’initiation à la scénographie, les étudiants se confrontent aux dimensions de la scène, assimilent les bases théoriques de son évolution à travers les siècles et font l’expérience du corps dans l’espace. Les acquis de la formation sont rendus visibles lors des bilans semestriels et contrôles continus, au cours desquels les étudiants présentent leurs travaux. La qualité des réalisations, la pertinence et l’originalité de traitement des sujets sont évaluées et replacées dans le champ de l’art. Au terme de l’année, L’Écrit 1
(« L’Essentiel ») doit également être fourni. Il synthétise les acquis et dévoile l’amorce d’une démarche artistique.

La première année ne peut être redoublée.
Coordination : Frédéric Pohl

2e année (Phase Programme)

L’étudiant approfondit ses connaissances fondamentales afin de déployer une pratique personnelle. Cette dernière s’exprime à la fois dans une réponse aux différents apprentissages et dans une démarche individuelle de création. Certaines matières deviennent optionnelles, ce qui permet à l’étudiant d’affirmer des choix singuliers de formation. Relayée par un usage intense des moyens mis à disposition par la plateforme numérique, la pédagogie est sous-tendue par des problématiques liées à l’espace. La scénographie prend plus d’ampleur ; au travers de ses aspects conceptuels, elle englobe l’acquisition d’un vocabulaire formel précis et une logique de pensée qui prend en compte l’espace-temps de la représentation, particulièrement dans le cadre du projet First Stage on Stage.
La méthodologie, l’histoire de l’art, l’esthétique, et la langue anglaise sont dispensées sous forme de séminaires. La capacité d’analyse et la maîtrise des outils de communication (oral et écrit) viennent ainsi renforcer les projets. Les studios pratiques et techniques, le travail personnel en atelier, les workshops et le stage extérieur en collaboration avec les partenaires de l’école participent à l’évolution des savoir-faire et au développement d’une pensée critique. L’étudiant s’approprie les outils adaptés à son travail et, le cas échéant, en invente d’autres.
Il interroge le rôle de l’artiste dans la société contemporaine, et son devenir. Parallèlement, il réalise une édition au travers de L’Écrit 2 (« L’Entretien »).

Coordination : Laurent P. Berger

3e année (Phase Programme)

Conclusion de la phase programme conduisant au Diplôme National d’Art (DNA), option art & scénographie, la 3e année vise à l’approfondissement des acquis théoriques et pratiques, qui enrichissent le projet de l’étudiant. Immergée dans le faire et forgée par l’analyse, une expression personnelle se précise.
Les pratiques d’installation et de monstration sont au centre du workshop et du studio proposés aux étudiants dans la salle du Quai Antoine 1er à Monaco, vaste espace dans lequel ils présentent une exposition collective ; elles sont aussi convoquées à l’intérieur de l’ARC sur inscription Le Jardin comme exposition – L’Exposition comme jardin. La scénographie de spectacle et d’art vivant, reliée aux cours d’esthétique théâtrale, est abordée au travers de l’observation critique d’un spectacle contemporain ; elle se déploie également au travers de deux ARC sur inscription : les Imprévus et L’Invention de Morel. Les cours d’histoire de l’art questionnent les codes de l’exposition et ceux de langue étrangère se focalisent sur des textes et sujets de l’actualité des arts. La maîtrise des outils 2D / 3D soutient la réalisation des projets individuels et collectifs, et participe à leur invention. Des options sont proposées parmi les suivantes : design d’objet / céramique, photographie, édition, gravure, graphisme, son (acoustique), dessin, vidéo. Le stage entérine une expérience professionnelle en lien avec les ambitions personnelles de l’étudiant. Enfin, la production de L’Écrit 3 (« L’Essai »), sous une forme libre et référencée, fait part d’un retour sur l’expérience de l’année, analyse l’évolution du parcours et laisse entrevoir les prémices d’une recherche. Au cours de l’épreuve du diplôme, l’étudiant valide les apports pédagogiques des trois années écoulées. À cette occasion, il témoigne de sa progression et présente un travail plastique autonome, en dialogue avec les enjeux scénographiques et les références artistiques.

Coordination : Mathieu Schmitt