2nd cycle

Studies

Year 4 (Project Phase)

The 4th year starts in July at the Festival d’Avignon. First step of the project phase, it aims at defining a field of research in art and scenography. Students must invest themselves in one axis, and on the other hand choose two options among the following: object design / ceramics, drawing, photography, publishing, graphic design, engraving, sound (acoustic), video, digital learning.
They are involved in the different projects carried out in collaboration with the school’s institutional partners. Participation in the research and creation workshops (ARC) and workshops reinforces immersion in the different worlds of scenography, and nourishes the student’s personal practice. Seminars are given in aesthetics, art history, scenology, and foreign languages; introductory courses in research are initially aimed at acquiring a methodology. The writing of the graduate thesis is thus initiated. An internship or study stay of varying length in a cultural institution or partner school occupies all or part of semester 8. This trip allows the student to enrich his or her experience, which he or she will give during an evaluated public presentation. During this semester, the student begins to write his or her final dissertation; it develops a critical reflection with which he or she relates his or her own creative process.

Coordination: Dominique Drillot

Year 5 (Project Phase)

The 5th year prepares students for the final diploma, towards the acquisition of artistic and intellectual autonomy. During this year, students choose a strong axis of scenography, between show and performing arts scenography and exhibition scenography. In each axis, they are offered the choice of enrolling in different projects, where theory and experimentation in the field meet and complement each other. The practice of a foreign language is maintained, through meetings and conversations.
There is no split between partner and personal projects, invested in the same way by the students, who will bring out their artistic singularities.
The work carried out within the framework of the partnerships, through research and creation workshops (ARC) organised in networks, is thus recontextualised in personal practice.
Art and scenography are brought together in a single entity that expresses itself in a diploma project and brings to light a committed reflection as an artist-scenographer, supported in writing by the end-of-year dissertation.

Coordination : Renaud Layrac

2e cycle

Études

4e année (Phase Projet)

La 4e année commence dès le mois de juillet au Festival d’Avignon. Première étape de la phase projet, elle a pour objectif la définition d’un domaine de recherche en art et scénographie. Les étudiants doivent s’investir dans un axe, et d’autre part choisir deux options parmi les suivantes : design d’objet / céramique, dessin, photographie, édition, graphisme, gravure, son (acoustique), vidéo, apprentissages numériques.
Ils sont impliqués dans les différents projets menés en collaboration avec les partenaires institutionnels de l’école. La participation aux ateliers de recherche et de création (ARC) et aux workshops vient renforcer l’immersion dans les différents univers de la scénographie, et nourrit la pratique personnelle de l’étudiant. Des séminaires sont dispensés en esthétique, en histoire de l’art, en scénologie, et en langue étrangère ; les cours d’initiation à la recherche visent dans un premier temps l’acquisition d’une méthodologie. La rédaction du mémoire de second cycle est ainsi amorcée. Un stage ou séjour d’études d’une durée variable dans une institution culturelle ou une école partenaire occupe tout ou partie du semestre 8. Ce déplacement permet à l’étudiant d’enrichir son expérience, qu’il restituera lors d’une présentation publique évaluée. L’étudiant commence à rédiger au cours de ce semestre son mémoire de fin de cycle ; il étoffe une réflexion critique avec laquelle il met en relation son propre processus de création.

Coordination : Dominique Drillot

5e année (Phase projet)

La 5e année prépare au diplôme de fin d’études, vers l’acquisition d’une autonomie artistique et intellectuelle. Au cours de cette année, les étudiants se déterminent dans le choix d’un axe fort de la scénographie, entre scénographie de spectacle et d’art vivant et scénographie d’exposition. Dans chacun des axes, le choix leur est offert de s’inscrire à différents projets, où théorie et expérimentations sur le terrain se rencontrent et se complètent. La pratique d’une langue étrangère est maintenue, au travers de rendez-vous et de conversations.
Il n’y a pas de scission entre projets partenaires et personnels, investis de la même façon par les étudiants, qui en dégageront leurs singularités artistiques.
Le travail mené dans le cadre des partenariats, au travers d’ateliers de recherche et de création (ARC) organisés en réseaux, trouve ainsi à se recontextualiser dans la pratique personnelle.
Art et scénographie sont rassemblés en une seule et même entité qui s’exprime dans un projet de diplôme et fait apparaître une réflexion engagée d’artiste-scénographe, étayée à l’écrit par le mémoire de fin d’année.

Coordination : Renaud Layrac